Appointing inspirational leaders, who just happen to be women

With 50% of our executive appointees being female* over the last 12 months, today is business as usual for GatenbySanderson. We welcome the pause, however, to highlight the achievements and inspirational leadership of some of the highest profile leaders in public life, who happen to be women.

Here are just some of the many women, over the last 12 months, we are privileged to have played a part in appointing, who, every day, help shape a better society.

Chief Executives

  • Professor Penelope Endersby, Chief Executive, Met Office
  • Susan Clews, Chief Executive, ACAS
  • Paula Sussex, Chief Executive, Student Loans Company
  • Roisin Fallon-Williams, Chief Executive, Birmingham and Solihull Mental Health NHS Foundation Trust
  • Sarah Jane Chimbwandira, Chief Executive Officer, Surrey Wildlife Trust
  • Leann Hearne, Group Chief Executive, First Ark Group
  • Caroline Donovan, Chief Executive Officer, Lancashire Care NHS Foundation Trust
  • Caroline Langley, Chief Executive, Institute of Psychoanalysis
  • Elizabeth Davenport, Chief Executive, Torbay and South Devon NHS Foundation Trust
  • Geraldine Newbold, Clerk and Chief Executive, The Solicitors Disciplinary Tribunal
  • Tracy Bullock, Chief Executive, University Hospitals of North Midlands NHS Trust
  • Gillian Charlesworth, Chief Executive Officer, Building Research Establishment (BRE)
  • Mary Harpley, Chief Officer, Greater London Authority
  • Helen Bailey, Chief Executive, London Borough of Sutton
  • Helen Walker, Chief Executive Officer, Carers UK
  • Dr Caroline Turner, Chief Executive Officer, Powys County Council
  • Julie Gilhespie, Chief Executive, Tees Valley Combined Authority
  • Sara Todd, Chief Executive, Trafford Council
  • Sara Livideas, Chief Executive Officer, The Fremantle Trust
  • Anne Marie Graham, Chief Executive Officer, UK Council for International Student Affairs
  • Dr Alicia Greated, Chief Executive Officer, Knowledge Transfer Network


  • Dame Clare Marx, Chair, General Medical Council
  • Stevie Spring, Chair, Mind
  • Dame Jo Williams, Chair, Alder Hey Children’s NHS Foundation Trust
  • Dame Carol Black, Chair, Centre for Ageing Better
  • Rachel Cerfontyne, Chair – Community Engagement Board, Heathrow Airport Consultative Community
  • Ann Beasley, Chair, South West London and St George’s Mental Health NHS Trust
  • Kathy Doran, Chair, The Clatterbridge Cancer Centre NHS Foundation Trust
  • Elisabeth Davies, Chair, Prisoners’ Education Trust
  • Rosie Glazebrook, Chair, Publishers Licensing Service


  • Pamela Duerden, EHSSQ Director, Nuclear Decommissioning Authority
  • Sue McAllister, Prisons and Probation Ombudsman, Ministry of Justice
  • Kate Josephs, Director of Funding, Education and Skills Funding Agency
  • Linda Cherrington, Director of Finance and Operations, Power to Change
  • Mandy Eddols, Human Resources Director, House of Commons
  • Amanda Neylon, Director of Digital, Technology and Data, Arthritis Research UK
  • Claire Shepherd, Chief Operating Officer, FCO Services
  • Katherine Purser, Head of Data Strategy, DWP
  • Kulbir Shergill, Director of Social Inclusion, University of Warwick
  • Alison Clifton, HR Director, Border Force
  • Denise Hollebon, Director of Estates and Facilities, University of Wolverhampton
  • Tanya Carter, Director of HR, East London NHS Foundation Trust
  • Dr Layla McCay, Director of International Relations, NHS Confederation
  • Yvonne Elliott, Deputy Chief Executive, Primary Care Sheffield
  • Rachel Crownshaw, Customer Insight Director, GreenSquare Group
  • Anna Simpson, Executive Director of Finance & Information, Midland Heart Ltd
  • Dr Helen Lowey, Director of Public Health, Bolton Council
  • Melanie Meggs, Strategic Director, Children and Families, Kirklees Council
  • Melanie Creighton, Director of Finance and Resources, Liverpool City Council
  • Allison Parkinson, Director of Safeguarding and Family Resilience, Surrey County Council
  • Helean Hughes, Director – Education and Skills, Wiltshire Council
  • Fiona Carragher , Chief Policy and Research Officer, Alzheimer’s Society
  • Debvia Gurjar, Director of Brand and Marketing , Barnardo’s
  • Juliette Enser, Senior Director – State Aid, Competition & Markets Authority
  • Dionne Spence, Director of Investigations & Resolution, General Optical Council
  • Alison McKinna, Director of Corporate Services, Social Work England


  • Kathryn Robinson, General Counsel, London Fire Brigade
  • Sumita Hutchison, Non-Executive Director, 2gether NHS Foundation Trust
  • Jane McCloskey, Non-Executive Director (Transformation), Royal Devon & Exeter NHS Foundation Trust
  • Jackie Smith, Non-Executive Director, Independent Parliamentary Standards Authority
  • Eileen Taylor, Non-Executive Director, East London NHS Foundation Trust
  • Jane Wynne, Non-Executive Director, Sovereign Housing Association
  • Jayne Stringfellow, Clinical Non-Executive Director, Chesterfield Royal Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
  • Susan Jordan, Non Executive Director, Worcestershire County Council
  • Pippa Gough, Trustee, NSPCC
  • Jackie Jordan, Trustee, Sons & Friends of the Clergy

* Of all candidates who declared

Share this article

Related Articles